Here’s Why I Don’t Want To Blog About Celebs Anymore…

be-the-change-you-want-to-see-in-the-world-sayings-cute.jpg

 

Well hello darlings, it has been a while since we last spoke.

I’m genuinely sorry that it has taken me so long to write this post, but the truth is that Aisling and I haven’t really been sure exactly what we wanted to do with the site until now.

Neither of us wanted to say goodbye for good, and both of us envisaged doing something different and new with Bohomoth at some point in the future, however we weren’t exactly sure about what that might be.

I started Bohomoth with Aisling back in early 2011. The newspaper and magazine industry was in freefall following the financial crisis, and budgets were being crunched all over the place.

It was really therapeutic having something to focus on which wasn’t the news that yet another magazine or newspaper I worked for regularly had closed. However, throughout the entire time that we did Bohomoth, I was still writing for mainstream news outlets. And, whilst rewarding, running two businesses was exhausting – especially as I’m also a single mum who was trying hard to get my son, who is now 20, established in his chosen career path.

But by 2014, the celebrity news landscape I had once lived and breathed – and loved – had changed dramatically thanks to Twitter, Instagram and PRs discovering the power of the Internet.

Reality stars were suddenly setting the news agenda and, thanks to execs worrying more about page views and social media shares than what makes a good, juicy and scandalous story, online news outlets were following it.

Hollywood was no longer fun or exciting to write about, it was boring. The glitter and fairy dust was just… plain old dust.

All of the celebrity blogs started regurgitating and rehashing the same stories and posting identical pap agency photos, with little to no original content or reporting, and there’s only so many times you can bash out a paragraph about Kim Kardashian’s arse, or make a joke about a dress an actress was paid to wear to the Oscars, without wondering if that’s really what you want to be known for.

Aisling and I always agreed that we would never write about things we found dull and when you’re fatigued by both the entertainment and fashion industries, it makes little sense to spend all day every day writing about them.

Both of us went off and focused on our health and battling the exhaustion that comes from the behind the scenes tedium of running a website on a day to day basis (I wouldn’t wish conversations about SEO with techies on anyone) and then immersed ourselves in new writing projects that we are genuinely passionate about.

I still write some entertainment news for various media outlets but I’ve also gone on to write about a lot of other subjects as well. I’m a journalist first and foremost rather than a blogger and a key part of my job is telling other people’s stories and giving a voice to those who might not otherwise have one.

I’m more interested in the refugee crisis, Daesh and the terrifying rise of Donald Trump than I am about what Jen Garner told a magazine following her marriage break up after being heavily briefed by her expensive publicist on exactly what to say. It’s not honest, it’s all fake and we are all being played. 

But more than anything, it’s important to remember that what seems like a harmless joke poking fun at a celeb can be extremely damaging, and that is what bothers me the most about writing an entertainment news blog.

Wentworth Miller posted a heartfelt message on Facebook yesterday which illustrates that point more than adequately:

Today I found myself the subject of an Internet meme. Not for the first time.
This one, however, stands out from the rest.
In 2010, semi-retired from acting, I was keeping a low-profile for a number of reasons.
First and foremost, I was suicidal.
This is a subject I’ve since written about, spoken about, shared about.
But at the time I suffered in silence. As so many do. The extent of my struggle known to very, very few.
Ashamed and in pain, I considered myself damaged goods. And the voices in my head urged me down the path to self-destruction. Not for the first time.
I’ve struggled with depression since childhood. It’s a battle that’s cost me time, opportunities, relationships, and a thousand sleepless nights.
In 2010, at the lowest point in my adult life, I was looking everywhere for relief/comfort/distraction. And I turned to food. It could have been anything. Drugs. Alcohol. Sex. But eating became the one thing I could look forward to. Count on to get me through. There were stretches when the highlight of my week was a favorite meal and a new episode of TOP CHEF. Sometimes that was enough. Had to be.
And I put on weight. Big f–king deal.
One day, out for a hike in Los Angeles with a friend, we crossed paths with a film crew shooting a reality show. Unbeknownst to me, paparazzi were circling. They took my picture, and the photos were published alongside images of me from another time in my career. “Hunk To Chunk.” “Fit To Flab.” Etc.
My mother has one of those “friends” who’s always the first to bring you bad news. They clipped one of these articles from a popular national magazine and mailed it to her. She called me, concerned.
In 2010, fighting for my mental health, it was the last thing I needed.
Long story short, I survived.
So do those pictures.
I’m glad.
Now, when I see that image of me in my red t-shirt, a rare smile on my face, I am reminded of my struggle. My endurance and my perseverance in the face of all kinds of demons. Some within. Some without.
Like a dandelion up through the pavement, I persist.
Anyway. Still. Despite.
The first time I saw this meme pop up in my social media feed, I have to admit, it hurt to breathe. But as with everything in life, I get to assign meaning. And the meaning I assign to this/my image is Strength. Healing. Forgiveness.
Of myself and others.
If you or someone you know is struggling, help is available. Reach out. Text. Send an email. Pick up the phone. Someone cares. They’re waiting to hear from you. Much love. – W.M. ‪

#‎koalas‬ ‪#‎inneractivist‬ ‪#‎prisonbroken‬
http://www.afsp.org
http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org
http://www.activeminds.org
http://www.thetrevorproject.org
http://www.iasp.info
http://www.facebook.com/notes/wentworth-miller/flour-or-wheat/1653559881523614

This is the image that he’s referring to:

12072568_1713822728830662_156327031729391964_n.png

I don’t want to be a part of that anymore. I don’t want to be the person that tears down celebrities for a living.

Evolving and changing once you hit your forties isn’t only inevitable it’s essential.

Aisling is now busy penning extremely thoughtful and utterly brilliant (and award-winning) radio plays which you can keep up with and listen to here and I’m working on a writing project which I will post about in due course.

We had a great laugh working on Bohomoth, and the best bit of all was that we met and chatted to many fantastic people from across the globe and I thank you all from the bottom of my heart for your support.

Thanks to all our fabulously brilliant contributors – Ant0scar deserves a special shout out here for his laughtastic week in review columns which ran every Friday.

I’m sorry that it has taken so long to say goodbye, and the reason why it has taken so long is because it’s a tough one to do as you’re all absolutely wonderful.

Thanks for the support and all the laughs,

Jen xxx

large

16 Comments Add yours

  1. flfgrrrlr says:

    Hi Jen,

    I just wanted to say thanks for all the stories. Our little community really enjoyed the site- it was fun while it lasted. To your credit I don’t think you ever did really tear people down- rather, poked gentle fun. But I can really understand your decision even if I miss the site a lot! It got me though some tough times, genuinely. I hope that I see your other journalism – who do you write for? You always have a thoughtful intelligent perspective.

    Much love,
    Helen

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny Paul says:

      Hi Helen,

      Thanks so much. I’m happy to hear it was a good distraction for you and it got us through tough times too 🙂 x

      Again, sorry it has taken ages to actually say what’s going on. We have both felt for ages that the celeb stuff is old hat but we also haven’t had time to relaunch a completely new site.

      I’ll try and post links to anything I do that’s work-related on the FB page.

      Asho’s plays are on Soundcloud and they’re really worth checking out too.

      And I will update here from time to time as well.

      Loads of love and I hope all is fab with you xx

      Like

  2. Very best wishes for your future, i enjoyed the fashion, and stopped reading the celebs when it became about Siri Cruise. You made a promise not to write bad stuff about how people look, but thats what makes people click, we deserve better 🙂 go get it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny Paul says:

      Thanks for the message Louise,

      Over the past couple of years I have changed my thoughts on a lot of things.

      I know a lot more about Scientology now and think that Katie has done fantastically escaping that cult with her daughter in one piece and is to be applauded.

      I used to love fashion, but even that has been tainted by reality stars.

      Onwards and hopefully upwards 😉

      Very best,

      Jen

      Like

  3. Thank you so much for this post…things change for everybody, and using your wit and talent kept me giggling, but same deal. Want to spread the love, not be joining in on the bringing down.

    Still have that amazing bag and still get people commenting on it when I use it. Just thank you for being you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny Paul says:

      Thanks Heely! I’m delighted you still have that bag! I’d forgotten all about that!

      And, I agree – love is the way forward. 🙂

      xxx

      Like

  4. Gabi says:

    Bless you gorgeous girls, I’ve missed you and wondered about you both. Thanks for the message and I understand and agree it’s ugly out there I’m not sure how journos do it and not hate themselves, congrats on a happy and fresh future xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny Paul says:

      Thanks Gabi! It’s crazy how fast time flies, isn’t it? We do miss you all a lot, it was the community that kept us going more than anything else. I hope you’re well and all is peachy with you xxx

      Like

  5. Gabriel Herbert says:

    Understood. Just don’t leave Twitter though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jenny Paul says:

      Hahaha. Yeah, it’s impossible to leave Twitter. It’s like a magnetic force 😉 xx

      Like

  6. Sandra says:

    Hello, all i can say “RESPECT!!!” Reading your website was great, nothing was as clever as your articles. I will miss your fashion and health comments mind you. Since your article i am taking magnesium every night😀 Good luck with your son and everything you and Aisling are or will be doing. It will be all succes👏👏👏 thank you and big greetings from Spring Prague Xxx Sandra

    Like

  7. Kristy says:

    Followed you religiously for ages a while back, but then the Kardashians were like mould, just everywhere in the celebrity world, and I stopped reading all the gossip blogs. I still wear the sunglasses I won in a competition you ran when I was living in Germany though! Good luck for the future, you guys were always fair.

    Like

  8. Lainie says:

    This is a To Sir With Love moment for me. You are both irreplaceable. If you wanted the sky…❤️

    Like

  9. Flangiebabes says:

    Aww really proud of the pair of you moving on to something worthwhile. Bohomoth was my guilty pleasure, I still miss your acidic run downs of the red carpet, but you are completely right celebs are boring. I’ve just had a quick trawl though the pics of the Met Gala and was bored bored bored, wondered if either of you would have anything to say that would make me laugh out loud at the spectacle after all this time, and make up for my time wasting. Best of luck for the future ladies xxx

    Like

  10. donna thomson says:

    Hello ladies it has been a long time and i confess to checking in now and then to see what was up. Bohomoth was for a long time a great place to chat and have a laugh. but i agree that celeb news has lost its luster with the reality people taking over – and being more and more shallow than ever. Happy to hear you are both doing well. Miss you !!

    Sassy

    Like

  11. Wow, what article I’ll share on my Facebook

    Like

Leave a Reply

